Waiting At Tables

12 Dec

waitOK … So this isn’t a picture of the game itself. It’s me and my brother eating poutine in Ottawa. I hadn’t even invented this game when the picture was taken. But you can bet that if I had we would have been even happier than you see us here! (Yikes) Waiting at tables is actually a series of little games designed to pretty much just waste time!

Ages: 7+

Players: 2 (or 2 teams)

Interesting features: No more trying to come up with new and interesting things to say while you wait for your food and no more awkward silences! (this game is a real marriage saver! ) Just be prepared for a lot of fun and strange looks from everyone around you!

Extras Needed: Only whatever you have in front of you on the table (or you can have your wife carry around extra sugar packets in her purse … just in case there’s not enough)

DOWNLOAD:

WAITING AT TABLES

Printing Suggestions: Print a copy of the rules on EACH side of an 8.5X11″ sheet of paper. Cut it in half and you now have 2 copies of the rules! (It’s like magic) Why not give one to a friend or leave one with your server (CAUTION: you will also want to leave a healthy sized tip if you decide to do the latter).

Designer’s Notes: This past year my wife and I celebrated 7 years of marriage. What I have learned is that sometimes you run out of things to say to one another. Like when you’re waiting for your food in a restaurant. My wife doesn’t mind sitting in silence (many times I’m sure she would prefer it to some of the things I go on about), but I need to be doing something. One evening we were in just such a situation while in a local eatery. I started playing around with all the different stuff on the table. “There’s gotta be a game in all of this somewhere.” I said to myself. “That’s nice dear,” she absently replied. “Now shush!”

Leave a Reply

