10 Mighty Men

16 Jun

10 Mighty Pic

Taking a timeless classic and making it something not worse! … I think …

Ages: 7+

Players: 2

Interesting Features: How and when you choose to use these variations is up to you.  Use them one at a time or all together – it’s your call.  Use only the ones you like and ignore the others.  Use nothing but these special pieces if you are feeling particularly foolhardy!

Extras Needed: A Mancala board, 48 “neutral” coloured stones or tokens, assorted stones or tokens in distinct colours (see rules).

DOWNLOAD: 10 Mighty Men

Printing Suggestions: Pretty straightforward – one piece of paper with the rules printed on both sides. The second file is designed to be printed on a sheet of standard business cards.  Each card has the information for One Mighty Man, and are meant to be kept in front of the player for easy reference during any game where said piece is being used.

Extra:

DOWNLOAD: 10 Mighty Cards

Designer’s Notes: Tom Wham, designer extraordinaire, has been an inspiration of mine for a long time (my apologies if this connection is less than flattering for Mr. Wham … providing inspiration does not make you responsible!)  I first discovered the joys of Mr. Wham’s hilarious and charming  designs with the great game “Planet Busters.”  Recently Mr. Wham came up with a brilliant variant of Backgammon called (obviously) “Whamgammon“.  This got me thinking that there are many other venerable games which could be updated in similar fashion … and so here is my first attempt.  Again, Mr. Wham, while in a way responsible for the game before you … is in no way to blame for the game before you.  I will take that credit myself.

Advertisements

5 Responses to “10 Mighty Men”

  1. Jazmine July 3, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    There is a little confusion about how to combine the various actions of the mighty men.
    Some questions:

    If I use a farmer to sow the shepherd into another bin, can I then use the shepherd to rearrange the binds next to him?

    Can I use a shepherd to move a chieftan so that he is placed next to the shepherd and then proceed to use the chieftan acting like a shepherd to rearrange the bins next to him?

    It would seem that two shepherds next to each other could arrange bins indefinitely.

    Should the chieftan act like the wise mother, warrior, or assassin if he sits in a bin next to them? What if next to all of them, which one does he act like?

    Should the chieftan act like the trickster if he lands next to him and then move backwards?

    Should the spy make all the other mighty men in the bin with him revert, or only one (of the players choice)?

  2. Jazmine July 3, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    I’ve added my own rules to help with some confusion. See if you like them:

    1. The Farmer or Shepherd stays in the bin he lands in while performing his action.

    2. The spy only reverts one other Mighty Man in a bin he lands in.

    3. If you pick up more than one Mighty Man, you perform all their actions in the order they are sown. The player can choose this order.

    4. If the Chieftan lands next to two or more Mighty Men, he has to choose only one that he will act like.

    5. If the Chieftan is at any point in a bin next to the Warrior, Wise Mother, or Assassin. He acts like them. If he is next to more than one of them, he acts like the combination of their characteristics.

    6. When determining the Trickster and Hunter’s movement, X = the total amount of pieces picked up.

    7. The Trickster is always sowed backwards first, before regular sowing continues.

    8. The Hunter is always sowed last.

  3. kenmaher July 4, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    Jazmine,

    Thanks for the questions and the rule suggestions! I can see how in my threadbare rules, there is room for confusion when using multiple pieces.

    The idea I had in mind (and I apologize that this wasn’t clearer) is that there when considering the actions a difference should be maintained between pieces that are sown and those that are re-arranged. Any piece that is lifted and sown may use its power. Any piece that is re-arranged by the power of another piece is simply treated as a regular piece (they do not get to use their power for being shuffled around).

    As for your rule suggestions:
    1. is how I intended the pieces to be played.
    2. is a good “gentle” way to do it. I say get them all (so be careful how many you put together!)
    3. is absolutely right!
    4. the Chieftan “may” use the ability of another piece but is not constrained to do so. And yes if there is more than one adjacent you choose which one.
    5. This is certainly an interesting idea, though maybe a little more complex than what I had in mind. (see #4 above) I would be interested to see how it plays out.
    6. This would be an interesting variant to the original, but it also sounds like fun.
    7. I don’t know that this is necessary, but again, I think it a worthwhile idea to try!
    8. This, I think would limit the potential of the piece (and much of its inherent power). If he is always sown last, then he must always be in the final bin and begin his extra movement from there. If he is sown anywhere along the line and then moved the possibilities are much more compelling (at least to my thinking).

    By the way, this discussion also led me to see that I should clarify the Chieftan piece a little further. When he chooses to use the ability of a piece beside him, should that piece be moved elsewhere the Chieftan no longer has that ability (eg, Wise Mother, or Warrior) A ruler is nothing without his subjects after all!

    Thanks again for your questions and your insights! I hope you are enjoying the game.

  4. kenmaher July 4, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    By the way, I think these questions and suggestions are very helpful … would you permit me to post them to the Board Game Geek page for this game?

  5. Jazmine July 20, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    sure, you can post them

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: