Time Out For Games …

11 Nov

You may have begun to wonder where I went.  I was playing hooky.  Well actually I was playing games.  It is a rarer treat for me than I would like to admit.  First I was privileged to take part in Protospiel North in conjunction with Hammercon III in Hamilton.  Many thanks to Francois for planning and organizing this wonderful event!  I had a great two days of playing some really top-notch prototypes and getting some invaluable feeback on a design or two of my own.  The guys from Game Artisans of Canada were extremely hospitable and welcoming and it was a real treat to be part of it all.

Upon returning home from that I was promptly off to a conference for work but in the evenings I was able to get together with some of the guys for cards.  What a nice way to spend a couple of evenings after a long day of filling your head full of knowledge. I taught Scopa to a couple of people and learned a new game (going by about 12 different names apparently) myself.

Did it get me any further on my own game design? Well … not really… But it did re-energize me for the design process. (All work and no play … as the saying goes).  And since I was in the car a lot over the past few days I did have time to think (always a dangerous thing). The beginnings of a game are stewing up nicely so check back tomorrow and I will have a brief introduction to the fabled town of  Freedom Springs.

One Response to “Time Out For Games …”

  1. Reed April 9, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Truly when someone doesn’t know after that its up to other viewers that they will help, so here it takes place.

Leave a Reply

